bait and switch

i thought i was just in for some weekend grilling at my parents’ place.
P1040560

then i get this conversation:
mom: i think you should have a baby.
me: what, today?
mom: i just think you would be a good mom.
me: maybe… but i don’t think a great single mom.
mom: i just know you have a lot of love to give.
me: first comes love, then comes marriage, THEN the baby carriage.
mom: well, wouldn’t you adopt?
me: again, what kind of timeline are you thinking about?
mom: i always thought you’d come home from a trip with a baby.
me: i probably will. someday. when i have a home to bring them into.
mom: well, just think about it.
me: i probably won’t until i’m married.

YIKES.

Leave a Reply

